I would write only for Gaza’s sake…

For Gaza’s Sake

Palestinian Flag
By Dima Abdulhaq*

8.1.2009


If my words could make a difference,
then I would write only for Gaza’s sake.

And if my voice could tear the distance,
then I would shout to make the dead awake.

 

If I could write and the poem becomes an armor
to shield the space above the children’s heads,

I would have written a thousand times more
preventing missiles from touching their peaceful beds.

If I could win the public ears,
I would then speak unveiling the truth
which has been covered over the years
I would then tell who are the Jews,

and who is the innocent murderer
who hides his face behind a lie;
he is the villain slanderer
who turns the facts to mystify

And I would tell whose land it is;
who are the owners and the passers by,
who dug the earth to find evidences,
yet the holy soil refused to lie

The coyotes came to rape our land
chasing every human trace
if they escaped the defending hand,
can they escape God’s Face???


* Dima has newly graduated from the University of Damascus; she obtained a B.A in English Literature. Forward Magazine is proud to have her as one of our newest interns.

3 Responses

  1. Dima

  2. Hi Dima
    I want u to believe that we can change the world by words
    Gaza needs us , needs our emotions
    so go ahead , write again & again
    someday roses well grow through the stone

  3. Great poem, I feel every word you wrote. I hope every Israeli reads your poem.. it will provoke the hell out or them!!
    Keep writing because every word makes a difference.
    May God help Gaza

Leave a Reply

